Call for Nominations: Sasakawa Award for Disaster Risk Reduction

sasakawa logo 2Nominations for the United Nations Sasakawa Award for Disaster Risk Reduction are now being accepted until October 31, 2014. The Sasakawa award seeks to recognize local and national governments, civil society organizations, research institutions, individuals or private sector organizations that have demonstrated leadership in managing disaster risk at the national, local or community level. The 2015 theme is Shaping the Future. This year the award seeks nominees who are “visionary and able to anticipate future needs” using the assets and resources available to their communities, to create “safe, healthy, wealthy and resilient” communities.

The award criteria includes six characteristics:

  • “Being agents of change”
  • “Acting ahead”
  • “Tackling uncertainty”
  • “Management of resources”
  • “Inclusiveness,” and
  • “Listening to new voices”

The award will be presented at the 3rd World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction on March 17, 2015 in Sendai, Japan, where governments will be gathering to adopt a future framework on disaster risk reduction.

For more information or to submit a nomination, click here.

You can see the video announcement of the award below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s